East African Askaris (I)

In the last post I outlined the plan to get some Askaris done. The first group is complete. All figures are Wargames Foundry Askaris. The Askaris in Carl Peters’ column probably had a few more with arab style clothing and I’ll be adding them in later. These were very much of the ‘armed porter’ variety so closer to an armed tribal look rather than the coastal arab askari look.

(sorry if these pictures come out a bit strange – I’m having a bugger of a time getting the photography right on these guys…I need to find a good mini photography blog/video that enables shots to be taken but in a setting, not just on their own).

Paint technique is Army Painter Dark over brown base colour and then block in colours and ‘layer paint’ for detail.

Anyway, here are some pics – hope you like them. The figures look a little nicer ‘in hand’ than I think these pictures show though I don’t think these are my best…sometimes they work, sometimes not…

 

 

P1080956

.

.

 

P1080957

.

.

P1080958

.

.

P1080959

.

.

 

 

P1080981

.

.

.

P1080986

.

.

P1080987

.

.

 

 

4 thoughts on “East African Askaris (I)

  1. Thanks Kaspar,

    As I said, something screwy happened with these pics. They are much nicer in the hand. The camera really didn’t show them off that well…still, they are nice in reality which is the most important thing!

    😉

    Like

  2. “These look great so I cannot imagine how much better they could be! :)”

    ..thanks…but it’s the photography, not quite the minis, I was not happy with. For some reason some colours and natural light kind of don’t work together in a photo…sounds silly, but at least that’s how it seems to me. A green base seems to always get a richer and better tone on all the colours…shall try that next…

    …then again, maybe I’m just crap at photography!

    Like

Leave a Reply

